Blah!

22 Sep

OMG, I hate morning sickness.

And seriously, whoever decided to call it “morning” sickness is no friend of mine. This shit lasts practically all day.

I have read it is a sign of a healthy pregnancy, so I should be thankful. (Did I really just type that I should be thankful for feeling like I have a flu that lasts a month?).

Sparkling lemon water has seemed to help, and I also ordered an acupressure band that I have heard great things about. But I am totally open to more suggestions. So ladies, please share your miracle cures in the comments section.

I hope you all are well!

Xoxo
Cori

23 Responses to “Blah!”

  1. Ishere September 22, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    Just ginger ale and crackers worked both my pregnancy good look couple.more weeks and it will be over and u will LOVE the 2nd trimester

    • janey September 22, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      Hey there – plain crackers when you feel the need, dont let yourself get hungry. And ice cold apple juice (if you can handle the sweetness) 🙂 enjoy

  2. Mary Kelly September 22, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    I have no suggestions other than sparkling water w/lemon and saltine crackers lol

    I would give my right arm to be pregnant. We’re trying… But watch, when I finally do get pregnant i’ll be a huge complainer lol Then you can tell me to shut up lol (and NO, I am NOT telling you to shut up) 🙂

  3. Julissa September 22, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Mama. First Congrats. Pellegrino makes their water with lemon/tangerine flavr. They sell it in soda cases @ costco. And crackrs. Hopefully first trimestr will fly by. Many blessings xoxo

  4. kristen September 22, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    Preggie Pops!

  5. Kim Swanson September 22, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    Saltine crackers! I always kept a package in different places throughout the house. Right next to my bed, living room, kitchen…

  6. Trina September 22, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Try taking your prenatal vitamin at night with a light snack and keep a pack of saltine crackers near your bed, eat a couple before you sit up in the morning! My morning sickness was horrible and this stopped mine! Also peppermint water is like a miracle!

  7. Sara September 22, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    My doctor suggested regular unisom and vitamin b6. It really did seem to help me, maybe check with your doctor?

  8. Mel September 22, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    I’ve heard snacking on a banana can help curb the next day’s sickness?

  9. VictoriaVanA September 22, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Ginger tea or anything ginger-y

  10. artsyprincess September 22, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Chicken nuggets and french fries helped me through my first trimester morning/all day sickness.. but I don’t think that’s the healthiest of remedies..

  11. Cjappleking September 22, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    I just never let myself get too hungry. I eat alot of granola bars and chew on pickled Ginger (not at the same time). Ginger ale makes me feel worse. Fruit helps me too, watermelon, bananas, oranges have been my friends. Oddly enough, Mint chocolate chip ice cream has helped me too!!

  12. Hannah Edwards September 22, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    Sorry I can’t help. I was one of those people who had zilch morning sickness. I felt fine and had a very healthy pregnancy. Sorry.

  13. Jennifer September 22, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    My morning sickness hit just a few weeks into the pregnancy and unfortunately lasted until around 7 months. Nothing seemed to help me, so my doctor prescribed a medicine called “zofran” (hope I’m spelling that correctly) and it worked for me!

  14. Dyan Hyman September 22, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Fortunately I was only queasy when I was pregnant but I do remember…NEVER let yourself get hungry. Graze all day on whatever may sound good. Saltines are a good standby. I also liked to nibble on UNfrosted Pop Tarts…sweet but not too sweet. Ice cream is actually a good one too…mint was a favorite. The protein in the ice cream helps keep you from getting too hungry too soon. It won’t last forever!

  15. Jen September 22, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    My wife swears by the seasick bands (though sometimes even they don’t work). She also tried preggie pops and mints. The most important thing though was having something on hand to snack on (at all times!!).

    She also keeps a snack next to the bed in case she wakes up. She found that the morning sickness was better if she ate a little bit before she even get out of bed in the morning!

    In terms of snacks, she preferred tart apples (granny smith). Sometimes she ate cheerios and pretzels. Her new thing is to eat a half of a peanut butter sandwich before bed.

    As we approach the second trimester the morning sickness is starting to subside, so just think…you only have 7 more weeks or so??? Hope you feel better!!!

  16. Cat September 22, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    I’ve tried a few things and although I’ve had bad “moments” it’s been tolerable. One of the things I read was trying to take your prenatals at night. So I’ve done that and most of my “morning sickness” comes in the early evening. I’ve also had salty foods like pretzels throughout the day and that helps too. Also sweetarts. They’re a lifesaver. Some people have told me peppermint or ginger tea, but tea in itself makes me yuk so that was a no go for me. If you’re a tea lover, more power to you. I’ve also stuck to sour fruits like plums and oranges. Hope this helps. We’re on week 13.5 and I just started feeling a little more like a human. My wife didn’t find it funny that I was calling our baby an alien until our ultrasound last week. Ironically, in one imagethe baby looked toward ultrasound and they took a picture. It looked like an alien and we both laughed. 🙂 Good luck!!!
    More like myself so it really does get better. Good luck!

  17. Nicki September 23, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    Cori…having worked in OB/GYN for almost 20 years, I can tell you a few things that may help with nausea and morning sickness. Water for some reason will make you feel more like throwing up, so anything else that you can keep down would be better. Also, try to always have something in your stomach to absorb stomach acid. When you are prego’s your body in response to hormones produces more stomach acid, and this is what causes nausea and vomitting. I tell our patients to keep a stack of crackers at bedside, and before even putting one foot on the floor to eat a few crackers….I know most of the time you will not feel like eating, but keeping something in your stomach is a sure way to keep the nausea away…promise! 🙂 Also, just keep in mind that this time will FLY by, and in just a few short weeks, you will be basking in that awesome pegnancy glow! ..however, come to the end weeks of pregnancy you will feel this way again..and this time it’s because baby is pushing all your insides up and there isn’t any room!! 🙂 You will also sleep less at the end, and this is natures way of preparing you for the long nights with your new born! Have fun! XOXOXXO

  18. ncnewsnotes September 23, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Try eating Ginger Snap cookies while sipping on Ginger ale soda! Ginger has been used to treat tons of ailments for centuries and is 100% safe for your growing baby too!

    Try it out!

    Nicole C.
    Chicago, IL

  19. Amber September 23, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    After 2 weeks of all day feeling like I have the worst flu, I finally have had 4 good days. Here’s what has helped me- Peppermints. I eat them when in the car (I never get nauseated in the car now) Sniffing peppermint oil. (strange but in the worst of nausea it helped bring it down a notch) Prenatal vitamin at dinner. I can’t take it before bed because it keeps me tossing and turning all night. My very best trick, I wake up about 30 min before I have to get out of bed. The FIRST thing I do is eat the peanut butter toast that my husband brings me. I swear that I tried to eat after I got up and did a few things and my nausea was back like before. So, a slice pb toast and letting it digest is the way I start each day! Hope this helps!!

  20. Leslie Hedrick September 24, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    Cory,

    Ok i had the same problem with my daughter, with my boys wonderful pregnancy, with my daighter not so much. My dr. perscribed me a medication that helped tremendisly for the nausia, but also what works is to take ginger pills every day. Sour things work great, lemon heads anything sour. At babys R us they sell these prego pops and there candy thats sour and u suck on them and they help. Ginger Ali became my best friend during my entire pregnancy. And i totaly agree it was a all day thing not just morning. Good Luck, If you were in Arizona i have a bunch of the prego pops you are more then welcome too 🙂

  21. Jozett September 27, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    eat some saltine crackers before your feet hit the ground in the morning. it works..

  22. Lisa September 27, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    Anything a little salty. Liptons, instant cup of soup broth did wonders for me. THis too shall pass…I am currently 13 weeks and just starting to feel better. Good Luck!

Thoughts??? :)

