A Lunch-Break Miracle

28 Sep

So, unlike I promised, it’s been a while since my last post. I have been in a 24/7 state of nauseousness. It takes every last bit of my super special brain powers to concentrate on not throwing up. This, unfortunately, means I could not lose focus and write a post. I figured you would rather have no post, than one covered in vomit. Right?

So my “morning” sickness is a mild nauseousness that is forever. The only time I am not mildly nauseous is when I am seriously, majorly, violently vomiting. This is our little sweet pea’s way of reminding me who is in charge. Not me.

Well, today the baby gods decided they would give me a few minutes of relief and I decide I would spend them with you, telling you how I got those miraculous minutes.

In the past few weeks of my neverending flu I have learned some things that work and some things that do the opposite of work.

So to help with the mild sickies, Lemon Sparkling water is pretty good. I like Arrowhead because it is one of the few that has no sodium.

 What has also helped with the mild sickies and sort of the serious sickies are the acupressure wristbands. I have the Bioband and I think it works, there is a chance that it could just be in my head…either way it’s fine by me.

 But the most bestest, number 1, favorite, serious sickie fixer winner is  Ginger Spicy Apple candies. OHMYGOSHMARRYME.

I am at work, about to get a case of the horrible, terrible, green face sickies. As I hold my head in my hands begging the little miniature munchkin to forgive me for the Sausage Hot Pocket I just tried to eat without him noticing (or her, but my gut says “him”) I see a piece of the candy peeking out of my purse, sparkling in the sunshine. Kacy gave me these candies because someone said Ginger might help. I hate Ginger. No, I HATE Ginger. So it was not on my list of things to put in my mouth while on the verge of death. But, I kept one in my purse because I have everything else in there, so why not? (and I also knew it would make Kacy really happy) So as I prepare for my run to the bathroom I decide to try it first. I am desperate. The bathroom is very public, and unlike all of you, the people I work with do NOT know I got myself knocked up. I try to avoid giving them any hints at all costs. I put the candy in my mouth as I hold my nose. I hold my nose because that is what people do on Fear Factor when they have to eat milkshakes made of spiders, and that is what I compare this to. And it’s not that bad, the spicy apple part takes away from the ginger part and is so spicy that it distracts me from being nauseous. Then as I finish the chewy candy I realize I am cured. Like, 100%, not even mildly sick, perfectness. I just experienced a miracle.

So if you are suffering like I have been, please try these miracle candies. You will thank me later. I will be buying them in bulk for the weeks ahead.
http://www.gingerpeople.com/ginger-chews/spicy-apple-ginger-chews-1.html

That’s all I’ve got…

XO
Cori

PS For the next time I experience a miracle and actually write a post, pretty please let me know if there is anything in particular ya’ll want me to write about. I am super not creative.

XO again.

35 Responses to “A Lunch-Break Miracle”

  1. MeishaConley September 28, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    All this will be so worth it in the end when that little person stares up at you and smiles for the first time. You will have a little miracle. My wife and I ate rooting for you guys and wish you all the best!!!

  2. Amy Walker September 28, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    So happy that you were able to get control of that yucky morning/all day sickness. You will have lots of stories to tell your little one. We in Phoenix are wishing you both the very best in the coming months. Love the blogs and enjoy the humor.

    Amy and Tricia – Tempe, Arizona

  3. Vita Ramos September 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Cori, try eating saltine crackers in the morning, the salt in them makes your stomach acids be stable, it worked for my mother =D

  4. Georgia @ Trying Something New September 28, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Hey Cori! Congratulations on the upcoming baby! I would love to hear a bit more about your life with Kaci before the pregnancy, like how you met, how you got engaged and the wedding, how your family is taking this pregnancy, etc…

    As a young lesbian, I’d love to hear how other couples went through the evolution of their relationship. Keep being fabulous!!

  5. outspokenval September 28, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    Oh my the flu and morning sickness, lol no bueno.
    I never experienced morning sickness luckily, but I did get nauseous, and my sense of smell became stronger then ever, that sucked, it made me hungry all the time. Lol I became anemic while pregnant and ended up staying after so that’s not very fun.
    My advice to you is start using stretch mark creams now, cause no joke those things creep up on you. I used a cream called Mommy-to-be, it’s an orange bottle, you can find it at target. It works netter then palmers I think, and smells a hell of a lot better. Lol, but I’m following you love and I enjoy your posts. God bless and take care the three of you. ❤ Val

  6. Ginny September 28, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    So glad you found something that works 🙂 So glad to hear from you that all is well with you all!!!!

    I would love to know how it was for you both having the ultrasound 🙂

    GInny

  7. Sarah M. Perrone September 28, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    I used an herbal remedy that I put into my orange juice in the morning – it contained ginger. Also there are certain pre-natal vitamins that have more b vitamins – they also help with the morning sickness. Speak to your ob-gyn about your concerns – I also have a really good friend who’s a mid-wife – I’ll ask her for more tips and repost.

  8. Carla September 28, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    Oh no! I’m sorry you are sick everyday. Hope GingerPeople has enough gingerchews for all the pregnancy.
    Kisses from Peru!
    Xoxo

  9. Amy Emann September 28, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    I SAY IT IS A GIRL! This is how I was with my daughter!

  10. Kaite September 28, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    I’m glad you found something that’s finally working well for you! If it ever stops working or you feel like you could use some variety, Babies ‘R’ Us (I work there) has candies called Preggie Pops (lolipops) and Preggie Drops (hard candies). Every woman who buys them SWEARS by them! They have some pretty weird flavors but they have sour apple, mint, ginger, etc. Congratulations! We’re so happy for you guys!

    -Kaite & Stacey

  11. Audra Volpi September 28, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Funny, when you said that you think it’s a boy, that reminded me of the second after I found out I was pregnant – I immediately thought I was having a boy. NEVER even considered picking out girl names. At the end of my 9 months, I was fortunate enough to have my baby boy I always knew I would have. (and just proved that, once again, I am always right…) :0)

    I would love to not only hear about your life BP (before pregnancy) with Kacy, as someone mentioned previously, but also about your reaction to finding out you were pregnant. Kacy so eloquently shared her feelings and reaction to that amazing day and I would love to hear your side now. I couldn’t be more thrilled for you two!!

  12. Joanne September 28, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    I had mentioned the ginger root somewhere to one of casey’s tweets or something. That is awesome u found a candy with it in it.
    And yes can’t imagine being nauseous all the time but they say that is a great sign that all is good and stable with pregnancy- I personally think they just try to screw with our heads to make it a good thing lol but let’s roll with that theory. I am wishing you non- green days ahead. Hugs from Canada

  13. Lauren September 28, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    Ooooh girl hopefully the morning sickness will stay within the first trimester. Im glad you found some kind of relief though. I remember when my friends little sister was pregnant and the Dr. prescribed these horrible tasting cookies, tasted like they were loaded with Pepto or something. Wish she would have known about the candies then. Id like to hear more about how your routine is changing now. I know you guys probably have a zillion plans for the nursery and Id like to know more about what you and Kacy have started doing to prepare. Awe and Kacy is probably like a little kid at Christmas! You guys are gonna be awesome parents! Love ya!

    -Lauren

  14. Maren Christensen September 28, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    So excited that you guys are prego!!! My partner sara and I have a 10 month old daughter who is amazing so congrats on that! I didn’t get morning sickness but a very good friend of ours did and I bought her by recommendation of my dr preggie pops! I don’t know if you’ve tried them but my friend said they were miracle workers!! Good luck and let’s hope this passes by your second trimester!! Love from Tucson!!
    Maren

  15. Lacey September 28, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    The real question is….Has Kacy had any sympathy pain or nausea??? You two are so fun and I bet the little one will be too 🙂

  16. Erinna September 28, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    What type of work do you do? (no specifics needed, just curious as to what field?) And what does Kacy do? Do you plan on working after you give birth or taking some time off?

  17. Laura September 28, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    Morning sickness is not the greatest thing but if u think about it its also great cuz u know that out of this ur gonna recieve a lil angel. i wish the best wit ur pregnancy. i do have to say it was great meeting u at the charity basketball game and being able to rub ur tummy. u and kacy just make the cutest couple and u two give me hope for the future. sending lots of love and blessings ur way. xoxo

  18. Nik September 29, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    Aw, seester! Sorry you are not feeling great. I hope the sickness is over soon. I am so happy for you and Kace. I seriously can’t wait to see my niece and nephew. Yes now I have decided that you are having fraternal twins ; ) Anywhoo, I’d like to know if you guys are going to find out the sex of the baby ahead of time or wait for a beautiful surprise? Love you. xo

  19. Jen September 29, 2011 at 3:04 am #

    I know you feel terrible, but someone once told us that it means your baby is REALLY healthy. So, go with it!

    Oh, and they make the ginger chews in other flavors too..just don’t get the originals!

  20. Shawna September 29, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    Ginger beer was my “wonder drug” when I was pregnant…give it a try, you may like it!

  21. Dyan September 29, 2011 at 5:35 am #

    You may find you enjoy ginger now that you are pregnant. Your tastes seem to change, craving odd things isn’t a myth. Do you know if you are only having one?

  22. shesmyhusband September 29, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    Pregnancy has it’s ups and downs, but like the others say it will be worth it in the end. Just use any remedy that works! And even though you say you are not creative, YOU ARE! We are enjoying you being yourself and writing about your experiences.

  23. chellelovexoxo September 29, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    That little one just isn’t making this the least bit easy for you. haha
    Glad you were able to finally find something that helps though! 🙂

  24. catherine September 29, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    hi cori! I would also like to hear about your relationship with kacy. how did y’all meet? how did y’all get engaged? also would love to hear about when you came out. love and good vibes from texas. xo

  25. ukdiversityproject September 29, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    Love your blog and congratulations on your pregnancy! And I agree, ginger really is one of the best things for morning sickness–hope it eases off for you soon!

  26. Sammlez Mershinaberryenda September 29, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    I am so very happy that you guys are pregnant! My girlfriend and I watched the Real L word from the second season first episode and just fell in love with you guys. Even my mom watches it. You guys are so much like us not to make you so much of a how do I say this unoriginal. You are original. You and Kacy are just so amazing and I only watched the show because of you guys and I am my girlfriend have been together for almost a year. I am 16 and she will soon be turning 16. Are you going to be on the next season? The show is not worth watching with out you guys.

  27. areyoumymoms September 29, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    Hooray for nausea cures. I’ve made a note of those. Hopefully Tuesday’s test result will tell me I’ll need them soon!

  28. Marcie Kraft September 29, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    So, if we promise to keep you up to your pregnancy-plumped boobs in those spicy-apple-ginger-yummy-thingees, do you promise to blog more often?!?!?!
    🙂

  29. April Gigi October 2, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    How are you managing to keep it from co-workers when you have become a public figure and you have facebook and this blog? that is impressive!!!!!

    http://aprilgigiangels.blogspot.com

  30. Licia October 2, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    I love you guys!!! N the baby’s name? Have you thought about?
    kiiisses from Brazil!

  31. Licia October 2, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    http://www.babynames.com/

    a sugestion…very good site about names … byee

  32. Mina October 4, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Ohhh, do I remember those days. My son will turn one this month, and I can still vividly remember how it felt like I had the flu for three months straight. It went away for me completely when I entered the 2nd trimester. Ginger gum worked for me {yes, sounds gross, but when you’re desperate you’ll try anything!}.

    I’m happy to have come across your blog, I really related to you and Kacy on the show, you guys reminded me of my partner and I. I’m looking forward to reading more!

  33. Maila October 4, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    can we get belly picture updates?? 🙂

  34. Ashley October 8, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    You guys are awesome…congrats!!

  35. Jaclyn October 8, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Another candy that might help your sickness is lemonheads. I get really bad car sickness and it definitely helps me! 🙂

    My girlfriend and I (along with most other lesbos,) watched you and Kacy on The Real L Word. You two were our favorites 🙂 That being said, we were super happy for you two when we saw the blog about you being pregnant. CONGRATS! We can’t wait to see pictures 🙂

Thoughts??? :)

